tomschumann.reismee.nl

Half way there

Hi to all readers! I hope you've had a good week.

I believe I am a true sick note. After getting the all-clear from my ear infection, I've been struck with a nasty cold. This means I'm sidelined once again and further annoyed with myself. Keeping in mind that this is just bad luck, I'm not getting too swept away. Anyway,, moving on to the report of my week.

It was relatively calm. These calmer weeks are spent doing practical stuff in stead of focussing on sales: there is just not that much money to be made in this industry, especially at this time of year. So, what am I doing on a daily basis, along with my colleagues? We are improving, cleaning and overall refurbishing the centre. In terms of what I expected to do, it's quite accurate. I knew there would not be a great opportunity to enhance my selling skills. Unfortunately, there are some things that dissapoint me. In stead of focussing on subjects can enhance the business' performance, I find myself spending a lot of time doing maintanance, or otherwise activities that anybody could do. No specialitiy has come to me yet, apart from the fact that I am able to sell the idea of Diving a little better. I hope to complete further courses in the Diving industry, making me a more experienced person.

Receiving feedback from co-workers is something I appreciate a lot. I want to know how I am doing. This feedback has been given to me by several instructors, and I've come across the following points of improvement. 1. Show more initiative & don't let illness bring you down. The past few weeks have been physically challenging for me, due to the ear-infection and other annoyances. They noticed this tampered with my attitude and my temper. They will assess if this will get better in times of good-health, as their impression of me was harmed by this unfortunate turn of events. 2. Do schoolwork at home and do duties at the centre. The small centre is not a place for me to work on my schoolprojects. There are a couple of reasons for it being so: it is small, loud, uncomfortable and it is supposed to be presentable to customers. When somebody is working behind a laptop, it will harm the business. It is up to me to do my schoolwork at home and not wasting time at the dive centre. Talking of schoolwork, it is all following along nicely. Only real financial data is left open until now, as that requires information from a source that is not available yet.

Furthermore, my Spanish speaking skills have not improved. I'm only speaking English in my enviroment, I've become surrounded in a familliar space. As unfortunate as it is, I don't think I'll be able to speak broken Spanish when I get back home. I've also decided to work forward 1 extra week so I will be able to go home a few days early, or catch up with some hours. 'Till now, I've not taken many days off, and I plan to work a few extra saturdays.

I'll be seeing you somewhere next week. Cheers!











Reacties

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!